2012 Curriculum


ACCS 2012 Curriculum

ACCS training is divided up into several sections:

  • Common competencies: provides generic competencies common to all specialities
  • Major and Acute Presentations: clinical presentations to covered throughout training
  • Practical procedures: to be covered throughout training
  • Anaesthesia specific curriculum
  • Intensive Care specific curriculum: in addition to the above competencies

25 Common competencies

These are competencies that should be acquired by all doctors during their training period starting within the undergraduate career and developed throughout postgraduate training. For ACCS trainees competence to at least level 2 descriptors will be expected prior to progression into further specialty training. For the initial three competencies of history taking, clinical examination, and therapeutics and safe prescribing, the trainee should aim to achieve the highest level descriptor early within their speciality training. Further assessment will be undertaken as outlined by the various workplace-based assessments listed within the curriculum. Common competencies include: history taking; clinical examination; safe prescribing; time management; decision making and clinical reasoning; patient as central focus of care; patient safety; valid consent; communication; evidence based medicine; audit and teaching.

6 Major Presentations

All 6 major presentations are to be completed by the end of the first two years of ACCS training. These are: anaphylaxis; cardio-respiratory arrest; major trauma; the septic patient; the shocked patient; and the unconscious Patient.

38 Acute Presentations

A minimum of 20 of the acute presentations must be covered during the first two years of ACCS training. These include the acute abdomen; acute back pain; breathlessness; collapse; chest pain etc.

44 Practical Procedures

The 44 practical procedures should be aimed to be completed throughout the first two years of ACCS training. The curriculum contains a matrix of the specific assessments required within each specialty module.